Petra Scherrer is 49 years old, was born in Switzerland and first lived in Winterthur and Frauenfeld before moving to the Solothurn and Bern region in 2002. In her free time she likes going to the 300m shooting range, cycling and devoting herself to her bonsai trees.  

Petra Scherrer, Manager Manufacturing at Ypsomed.

After her apprenticeship as a jewellery saleswoman, she worked as a clerk. She managed a store in the field of watches and jewellery for several years and has worked in the field. In the meantime, she has been working at Ypsomed for over 20 years. 

What is your job with us?

Since this January, I have a new position as Manager Manufacturing. I am responsible for the production staff. This includes, among other things, all personnel support from recruitment to resignation. I work closely with Human Resources and with the shift supervisors who report to me. Besides other things, I work with them to ensure that the right people are in the right place. 

What do you like about your work and the company?

I recently celebrated my 20th anniversary at Ypsomed and have always really appreciated the fact that I have been able to develop steadily. I have been given a lot of opportunities, even back when I first started. I didn't really know production yet, had never worked in this area. But Ypsomed helped me to understand the system, and I appreciate that very much. Also, my supervisors have always let me make my own decisions and supported me in my endeavors. In the teams I work in, I find the cooperation to be familiar, which I appreciate very much, and which is also a reason why I have been working here for over 20 years now. 

What is a normal working day like for you?

There is no such thing as a normal working day. I start work early. I'm usually in the office between 6:15 and 6:30 in the morning and start my day with the day-to-day tasks that come up. This includes, for example, data recording and a subsequent Shopfloor meeting in production. Otherwise, all days are different. Currently, we have a lot to do with personnel recruitment.  

How have you developed with us?

I had the opportunity to train as a management specialist. This training lasted two years and focused on leadership. In addition, there were many smaller courses that I was able to take. 

How is life in Solothurn / Burgdorf?

I feel very comfortable in the surroundings. I like it when it's not too urban. I grew up in Winterthur, but I feel more at home here. The places are a little smaller and there are fewer people living here.  

Do you commute? What are your experiences with it?

My commute to Solothurn and Burgdorf is very short. I come by car because the bus at my place of residence leaves only every hour. If I were to miss a bus there, I would have to wait too long. I'm definitely more flexible with the car if I want to work longer, for example. 

Were there any language barriers? Swiss dialect?

The different Swiss dialects at Ypsomed can sometimes create funny moments. Understanding an Emmentaler as a Winterthur native, there was a need for clarification from time to time.  

Name 3 hashtags you would use to describe Ypsomed.

#fair, #development opportunities, #belonging

Become part of our corporate culture

Go Back